Wouter van den Bos


Wouter van den Bos, researcher at the Center for Adaptive Rationality, is to receive an Early Career Research Fellowship 2018‒2020 from the Jacobs Foundation. The foundation supports talented and innovative researchers of all disciplines whose work promises to improve the development and learning of children and adolescents. In his research, Wouter van den Bos investigates the relation between the developing brain and learning and decision-making across adolescent development. With the fellowship, he would like to gain insights into social learning in the classroom setting and how this may change with age—specifically, how social learning strategies develop from childhood to late adolescence.

Wouter van den Bos
Gert G. Wagner: Teaser


Gert G. Wagner, Max Planck Fellow, will receive an honorary doctorate from the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences of the University of Cologne. This honors his services to science—on the one hand as author and publisher of numerous scientific publications and, on the other hand, as promoter and mediator between science and practice in the field of economics and social sciences. The title will be awarded on January 8, 2018, in Cologne.

Gert Georg Wagner
Azzurra Ruggeri - Teaserbild


Azzurra Ruggeri, head of the Max Planck Research Group iSearch – Information Search, Ecological and Active Learning Research with Children at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development has been appointed Assistant Professor of “Cognitive and Developmental Psychology” at the TUM School of Education. She will take up the position on 1.10.2017. The Tenure Track Assistant Professorship (W2) is awarded by the Technische Universität München (TUM) together with the Max Planck Society (MPS) with the aim of strengthening scientific synergies and offering promising young scientists from around the world attractive career perspectives. Azzurra Ruggeri will continue to head the iSearch Research Group at the MPIB.

Azzurra Ruggeri
Florian Artinger


Florian Artinger, researcher at the Center for Adaptive Behavior and Cognition, is this year's recipient of the Joachim Jungius-Preis for his work on simple pricing heuristics that facilitate effective market coordination in an uncertain environment. The Joachim Jungius-Stiftung der Wissenschaft zu Hamburg honors the work of young scientists who have made outstanding contributions in their field. Florian Artinger's work is of both practical and theoretical relevance to decisions made under substantial to entire uncertainty.

Florian Artinger
Garvin Brod


Garvin Brod, former postdoctoral fellow at the Center for Lifespan Psychology of the Max Planck Institute for Human Development and now researcher at the German Institute for International Educational Research (DIPF), has been awarded the Otto Hahn Medal 2016 for his dissertation entitled „Prior knowledge effects on memory: Neural correlates, developmental differences, and longitudinal dynamics,“ which was completed in the context of the International Max Planck Research School on the Life Course (LIFE). Garvin Brod’s doctoral research focused on the behavioral and neural effects of relevant prior knowledge on learning. As well as carrying out longitudinal studies, he conducted cross-sectional studies comparing age groups to examine developmental differences in the influence of prior knowledge on children’s and younger adults’ memory performance. The Max Planck Society honors junior researchers for their outstanding scientific achievements with the Otto Hahn Medal.



Imke Rajamani, researcher at the Center for the History of Emotions, has been awarded the Otto Hahn Medal 2016 for her dissertation entitled „Angry young men: Masculinity, citizenship and virtuous emotions in popular Indian cinema.”  Her work describes the relation of anger, democracy and masculinity in India’s postcolonial history. The dissertation presents an innovative method of doing conceptual history with multimedia semantic networks in order to access cinema and other popular media as sources for the history of emotions. The Max Planck Society honors junior researchers for their outstanding scientific achievements with the Otto Hahn Medal.

Imke Rajamani
Mehdi Moussaid


Mehdi Moussaid, researcher at the Center for Adaptive Rationality, is to receive the Jane Beattie Scientific Recognition Award 2017. He will be recognized for his work on judgment propagation and long-range social influence. The award is bestowed by The European Association for Decision Making (EADM) every two years and honors outstanding work in "innovation in decision research.” Mehdi Moussaid will present his work during the Beattie Lecture at the Subjective Probability, Utility, and Decision Making (SPUDM 26) Conference to be held in Israel in August 2017.

Mehdi Moussaid
Elsevier Award 2017


Sonja Hilbrand (University of Basel), David A. Coall (Edith Cowan University), Denis Gerstorf (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), and Ralph Hertwig (Max Planck Institute for Human Development) are the January 2017 winners of the Elsevier Atlas Award. They have received the award for their article “Caregiving within and beyond the family is associated with lower mortality for the caregiver: A longitudinal study,” which was published in Evolution and Human Behavior (doi:10.1016/j.evolhumbehav.2016.11.010). Analyzing data from the Berlin Aging Study (BASE), they showed that older people who help and support others live longer. Each month, the Elsevier Atlas Award recognizes research that could significantly impact people's lives around the world. An independent Advisory Board selects the winning article from over 2500 journals.

Douglas Garrett Foto quer


Douglas Garrett, a Senior Researcher within the Max Planck UCL Centre for Computational Psychiatry and Ageing Research and the Center for Lifespan Psychology, was awarded with an Emmy Noether Grant from the German Research Foundation (DFG). The Emmy Noether Program supports researchers in achieving independence at an early stage of their scientific careers via a five-year grant supporting their own independent research group. With his group (the Lifespan Neural Dynamics Group), Douglas Garrett aims to analyze the manner in which brain signal variability (so-called neural “noise”) declines upon aging, and whether this decline may drive aging-related cognitive deficits.

Douglas Garrett
Ulman Lindenberger


Ulman Lindenberger, Director of the Center for Lifespan Psychology, has recently been appointed member of the Nominations Committee for the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Program 2017-2022 by the Joint Committee of the German Research Foundation (DFG). The committee, which consists of 32 recognized and experienced scientists, selects annually ten scientists for the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize. The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, endowed with up to 2.5 million euros, is the most important research award in Germany.

Ulman Lindenberger